Tasmanian Health Service

About the Tasmanian Health Service

On 1 July 2015, the Tasmanian Government established the Tasmanian Health Service by amalgamating the three Tasmanian Health Organisations.

The Tasmanian Health Service has been established to improve patient outcomes by delivering better health services to Tasmanians. The establishment of a single statewide delivery structure will improve the coordination of services and reduce duplication in both administrative overheads and clinical support services.

Further information on the formation of the Tasmanian Health Service and other elements of the One State, One Health System, Better Outcomes Reform Program is available here.

The THS is governed by the Tasmanian Health Organisations Act 2011, and is responsible for delivering integrated services that maintain and improve the health and wellbeing of Tasmanians.

The THS has a clear responsibility and accountability for governing and delivering high quality, efficient and integrated healthcare services in their area, through the public hospital system and primary and community health services (including mental health and oral health services).

A single Chief Executive Officer (CEO) leads a management team responsible for the delivery of health services statewide.

The Tasmanian Health Service is guided by a Governing Council which sets the strategic direction for the Organisation.

Governing Council membership

Mr John Ramsay (Chair)

Dr Emil Djakic

Professor Denise Fassett

Dr Judith Watson

Professor Judith Walker

Associate Professor Deborah Wilson

Ms Barbara Hingston

Mr Mark Scanlon

Mr Martin Wallace

THS Governing Council group photo

  Services areas

Map of the regions of Tasmania